"Invisibility Cloak" by professor Sir John Pendry

Niels Bohr Institutet
Three of the world’s leading researchers were awarded the UNESCO Niels Bohr Gold Medal in 2010 for their special contribution to groundbreaking research in physics.

The three researchers are John Pendry from Imperial College in London, Professor Timothy Berners-Lee from MIT, Boston and Professor Kip S. Thorne from Caltech, Pasadena. All three are Nobel Prize class researchers.

Professor Sir John Pendry, The Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College London, UK has a background as a theoretical condensed matter physicist and is well known for his work on the structure of surfaces and their interaction with electrons and photons.

He received the medal for his groundbreaking contributions to the development of meta-materials, i.e. materials with significant and new, unusual optical properties. An example is materials with negative refractive indexes, which can then become 'invisible'. This particular phenomenon is called cloaking.

Produced by: The Niels Bohr Institute
Duration: 25:22 min.